Education in Springfield Kentucky!

While building on a rich tradition of educational excellence, Washington County is proud of it's varied educational offerings.

Washington County School System
Vocational/Technical Training
St Dominic School 
Bluegrass State Skills Corporation

BOE Building
Washington County Board of
Education Building

Washington County School Info

The Washington County School System  serve approximately 1800 students.  The district has four schools, with two of those located on a central campus in Springfield.  The Washington County Elementary and, Washington County Middle School.  The Washington County High School has built a new facility on the Highway 150 Bypass and was opened in August 2015.  The fourth school, North Washington, is located in the northern portion of the county and offers one pre-school thru eighth grade facility in Willisburg.

Washington County Schools consistently score among the top in the region academically.  The high school has very successful Family and Consumer Science and Agriculture programs, and the schools value and promote Washington County's rich historical heritage.  Students actively participate in community historical and arts events, and the administrators and staff strive to value diversity and provide the necessary tools for all students to be successful adults in an ever-changing world. 

The new 95,000 square foot high school opened in August 2015.  Athletic facilities including baseball, softball and football fields as well as a track and tennis courts will follow the construction of the new high school building.  The design for the school site also allows for expansion, with additional classrooms as well as an auditorium and more. 


Visit the Washington County Middle School Web site!

Visit the Washington County Elementary School Web site!

Other noteworthy facts include attendance records that consistently rank among the very best in the state, a teacher pupil ratio of 15.7 to one, and a high school that is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges.

 The Washington County High School has an industry workforce training program designed to improve:

• The quality of workers recruited from high school.
• To upgrade employees presently employed by local industries.

This is a program initiated by the Public Schools, assisted and funded by State government and designed by local plant managers - a team effort to bring local industries into a competitive position in the modern world of commerce.




St. Dominic School
Established in 1929, St. Dominic Elementary School provides an educational program that promotes academic excellence, with emphasis on teaching Catholic faith, morals and values. St. Dominic's offer preschool through 8th grade.

For more information, call (859) 336-7165 or visit


 Elizabethtown Community Technical Center is a division of the Kentucky Community and Technical College System.  The college provides access to educational programs and services for citizens living in Washington, Marion, Nelson, Spencer and surrounding counties.

ECTC's technical programs consist of machine tool, industrial maintenance and electricity along with others allow students to obtain an associate degree, diploma or certificate.  The Center also offers education courses for area professionals and non-credit, personal enrichment courses for local citizens.



St. Catherine College


Vocational-Technical Training
Kentucky Tech schools are operated by the Cabinet for Workforce Development and provide secondary (Sec) and post secondary (P/S) vocational-technical training.

Customized Training
The Kentucky Tech system, through its Training and Development Coordinators, will provide technical assistance and will identify and develop low-cost customized training programs and services for both established and prospective businesses.

Assessment Services
Kentucky Tech Career Connection offers to business, education, and government agencies customized assessment in career inventories, interest inventories, psychomotor skills and academic potential as well as pre-hire assessment.

Adult Education Services
Adult education programs are available to adults who want to develop new skills, improve basic skills or earn a high school equivalency diploma. In Springfield, adult literacy and adult basic education are provided by the Washington County Board of Education.

St. Catherine College

Bluegrass State Skills Corporation
The Bluegrass State Skills Corporation, an independent public corporation created and funded by the Kentucky General Assembly, provides programs of skills training to meet the needs of business and industry from entry level to advanced training, and from upgrading present employees to retraining experienced workers.

The Bluegrass State Skills Corporation is a major source of skills training assistance for a new or existing company. The Corporation works in partnership with other employment and job training resources and programs, as well as Kentucky's economic development activities, to package a program customized to meet the specific needs of a company.